Went with my GUT on this one!


The more I think about the other night the more I realize how lucky we were. We may have avoided what could have been a potentially dangerous situation…

My husband called and asked me to pick him up at the train station. He missed his regular train that morning and had to go to an alternate train station but ended up taking the regular train home. So I had to pick him up and take him to his car at the alternate train station.

As we (myself, my husband and my daughter) were driving through the  partially lit parking lot of the larger station we see a woman standing about 200′ in front of our car towards the back of the parking lot.  Since she motioned us to stop – we did.  I rolled down my window about 10 inches and there she stood a Spanish speaking woman approximately 26 – 30 years old. She pointed to her blue van with the hood up and said, with broken English, and with some hesitancy, that her battery died and wanted to know if we could give her a jump. I asked if she had a cell phone and she said that died too. Something in my gut didn’t sit well. I immediately said, (before my husband could even speak) we do not have cables but I would look for security to come and help her.

As we pulled away my husband said to me “why did you say that we didn’t have cables?” I answered, because something didn’t seem right with her or the situation and my gut told me to say that. So, before I went for security – I dropped my husband off at his car and we drove back around which was only a few minutes later and not to my surprise she was no longer there!!!!  She must have gotten into her van, you know, the one that would not start and left. I guess she didn’t want to see security.

I am assuming that since there was another car parked right next to her van that the people from that car were probably hiding in her van waiting for some innocent person to help and while setting up the cables they would either car jack them or worse.

I saw that my daughter was visibly upset because we were almost a victim of a crime. But I am happy to say “almost a victim.”

The lesson here was for my daughter, as I told her “always follow your gut.” She said she probably would have gotten out to help because it was a woman and she thought she heard her say something about a little boy in the van. It is sad that my 14 yr old daughter has to learn that it is not always wise to help others by putting yourself in potentially “harms way.” I told her that I was still going to help by looking for security making myself and family one less victim in a world full of victims.

Signing off as one less victim.
Long Island Rail Road
Be well my friends.

One comment on “Went with my GUT on this one!

  1. Having read this I thought it was extremely informative.
    I appreciate you spending some time and energy to put this information
    together. I once again find myself personally spending way too much time both reading and posting
    comments. But so what, it was still worth it!

Leave a Reply

